Wannabe farmers….apply here

Title: Dirty Chick, Adventures of an Unlikely Farmer

Author: Antonia Murphy

Publisher: Text Publishing

dirtychick1

Ok..confession time…I am a farmer wannabe…..when I say ‘wannabe’ I mean, I swoon and coo when I see a goat..cow…chicken….llama…pig….sheep…you name it, I will probably want one.

Now if you haven’t heard of Antonia Murphy (I shamefully had not…I know right..have I been living under a rock?!!) she is a very cool chick (@AntoniaMurphyNZ). Not only is she an author…a farmer, and adventurer she also has written about many of her sailing experiences which have appeared in many sailing magazines. (Many strings to her bow this one)

When I spotted this title ‘Dirty Chick’ Adeventures of an Unlikely Farmer…I thought to myself..this is me! This is the guide book I have been searching for..I need to cyber stalk this woman so I can pick her brains! However….did this give me a reality check! I was quicky thrown out of the ‘romantic’ bubble of farm life, which I envisioned, fresh farm eggs, milk, cheese on the table and a cute assortment of farm animals frolicking happily around the paddocks. (insert rainbows and lollipops here)

“By now I’d learned that country life is not a pastoral painting. Sure, at various times during the year you might see fluffy white lambs prancing in the tall grass, but those moments are rare. Real country life, it turns out, involves blood, shit and worms.”

The reader is taken on a funny, horrifying and entertaining journey with Murphy, which I promise will make you laugh out loud. From a sailor to a rookie farmer she shows us how not to start up a farm in picturesque NZ , with all the trials and tribulations. .The reader will also discover many fun facts from Murphy… the self confessed lamb addict (yes I am one of these too…)

“That’s how that lamb seduced me. It was cute like a baby, but unlike my own children, it didn’t whine or annoy me….I felt sorry for people who didn’t have lambs, because their lives seemed so grey and predictable. Unlike me, they didn’t live in hyper-elevated lamb reality, full of cute things and sparkles.”

Some of these fun facts include an education on a Duck’s penis (I will never look at a Duck the same again), vampire worms, chicken physiotherapy … alpaca noses and a very good example of how not to transport calves.

There are some serious elements as we learn of a death of a friend and the challenges faced with their young son Silas. Readers are able to experience how Murphy and her husband use their lifestyle to help foster his growth. Despite all the very turbulent and graphically described adventures (good and bad), there is still a charm to this lifestyle, which Murphy has no plans on ditching.

Murphy’s ability to find a humourous slant to almost any situation makes this a gem of a read. Wannabe farmer or not.

farmgirl_instant

 

4/5 Marmalade sandwiches

stock-illustration-9557011-grilled-cheesestock-illustration-9557011-grilled-cheesestock-illustration-9557011-grilled-cheesestock-illustration-9557011-grilled-cheese

Today’s brew

Organic Unicorn Blood from West End Tea Co.

Leave a Reply

